Label: Empty Pockets Productions
Year: 2006
Pice: US$ 30.00 (includes shipping & handling for Europe)

Guest Musicians:
Skip Healy – D flute, D piccolo, octave mandolin, cittern, percussion, and vocals
Mark Bernier – Guitar, vocals
Mark Poloka - Prim, string bass, clarinet, alto recorder, vocals
Jim Plaut - Snare drum tracks 6, 9, and 12.

For years now, Skip has been asked, "Why don't you have a band?" Well, be careful what you ask for!

This is the first CD from "The Healy Cartel" (visit the band's mini-site). Marc Bernier's vast knowledge of songs from many traditions and Mark Polokas skills on several instruments blend with my own playing of fifes, flutes, and strings to create a sound uniquely our own. This recording includes tunes from Ireland and America as well as songs of the land, sea, and air. 

We call our music "Songs and Tunes of Loss and Adventure". Order one of our CDs and find out why. That's an offer you just CAN'T refuse...For details, contact Skip at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Album bei iTunes herunterladen

"Christmas in the Trenches" is a ballad from John McCutcheons, released in 1984 on his album „Winter Solstice“. It tells the story of the truce from 1914 between the british and the german lines at the westfront from the perspective of a fictitious british soldier during the First World War. Although Francis Tolliver is a fictitious person, the content of the ballade is true. On his tour through Danmark met some german soldiers, who had been taken part of this christmas story. This song in the verion released in 2006 on the „The Cartel – Songs & Tunes of Adventure and Loss“ CD is for free download.

(>Save target as... - or click the link to play)

Orders for Europe direct via mail to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Delivery after payment in cash, Paypal, cash transfer or checks.
Price: $30.00 (includes shipping & handling to Europe)

Track No Title Sample
1 Farewell To Nova Scotia (3:24)  
2 The Rights of Man (2:44)
3 Fishers Hornpipe / Kenderbecks (3:01)  
4 The Band Played Waltzing Matilda (5:32
5 The Scholar / The Moving Cloud (3:22)
6 Saddle the Pony / Munster Buttermilk (2:24)
7 Old Maui (2:59)  
8 Christmas in the Trenches (4:39) FREE DOWNLOAD
9 The Pinch of Snuff (3:57)
10 Black Velvet Band (5:00)  
11  Carrikfergus (3:10)
12  The Carl Sanderson Song (3:44)